Twitterfon vs Twitterific (and other iPhone/iPod Touch Mobile Twitter Applications)

I prefer Twitterfon application over other iPhone/iPod touch applications which serve twitter because of its simplicity. The user interface, for me, is clean and simple. There’s not much buttons/icons displaying in the user interface which can overwhelm me.Please note that I’m a tech dodo.

I’ve been using the free version because I do not yet see the need to pay $4.99 (around P250. not really that bad.) to get the pro version. The free version is already good enough to satisfy my twitter needs. But lately, I have experienced frequent crashing. I notice it usually happens when I’m retweeting or sending twits that maxed the 140-character limit. So I was thinking that maybe if I got the pro version, it will solve the problem. But a twitmate, a friend over twitter, advised me to wait for the twitterfon’s bug update before buying the pro.

But I’m also ‘theorizing’ that the frequent crashing can be due to the OS3 upgrade of my iPod touch because I have not experienced any crashing before with the old OS (which got me thinking now to contact the twitterfon support.)

Anyhoo, while waiting for the twitterfon to shape up, I tried other iPhone/iPod touch twitter applications — trying to shop around looking for another mobile twitter application that can replace twitterfon. I downloaded those with free versions.

Tweetdeck

I tried tweetdeck which you can find my quicknote about it here. The mobile tweetdeck application is just too much for my little brain. There’s too much shiznit. It’s more of an application conceptualized from a designer’s point of view than from a developer’s point of view. Too much bling2x, though it’s feature which lets you group the people you follow is a great plus.

Anyhoo, I’m not a tweetdeck desktop application user in the first place thus the reason why I’m not leaning much to their iPhone/iPod Touch version.

Twinkle

Owkei, I admit, I downloaded this because of its cute name. I just cannot resist the name Twinkle. Plus, it has a free version which I can try. It’s developed by Tapulous, the maker of TapTap Revenge which I’m neither a big fan. My conclusion is that, it still has too much buttons/features I cannot make out what to do with them. One obvious plus thing about this Twinkle mobile twitter application is it has a facebook feature — let’s you post facebook status update and read update streams from your facebook friends. But the thing is I’m not a big facebook fan, so I’m really not looking forward to getting it except for its cute name, Twinkle.

Twitterfic

I consider this the next best thing to Twitterfon, just because I could not find (yet) as simple and beautiful as twitterfon mobile twitter application. It’s perfect except that it has too many buttons/icons/features which confuses the tech dodo in me. I’m trying to be techy to learn to love it, but as of the moment, my heart still belongs to Twitterfon. I’m still in the stage of giving many chances to twitterfon. If I finally get fed up, then twitterific here I come. Plus it’s cheaper by a dollar compared to twittefon.

Twittefon Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

Twittefon Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

versus

Twitterific Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

Twitterific Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

versus

Twinkle Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

Twinkle Blurry Shot from my iPod Touch

Looking at the above pictures, there’s not really much difference among them right? Hhhmmmm… But if you zoom in the upper part of the applications, you can see that the Twitterfon has the do-not-make-me-think design. =)

Comments Off on Twitterfon vs Twitterific (and other iPhone/iPod Touch Mobile Twitter Applications)

Filed under iPhone/iPod Touch Twitter App, My iPod Touch Diary, My Twitter Diary, Twitter Thoughts

Comments are closed.