The Paypal Wars: Battles with Ebay, the Media, the Mafia, and the Rest of the Planet Earth by Erick M. Jackson

To simply put it, I love the book. It is a story on how paypal started, its very early years. For a person like me who is not unfamiliar with start-up culture, I can totally relate to the story.

One of the things that prompted me to read this book is because I like Max Levchin, the former CTO of paypal. In short, he created the paypal technology. I read his story on Jessica Livingston’s Founders at Work, and reading his thoughts and takes on how they worked on paypal showed how humble he is.

That is why when I created my online toy store, without hesitation, i go for paypal. But I’m disappointed that Max Levchin resigned from paypal after Ebay bought them. And, I’m not a big ebay fan. So now I feel like looking at Google checkout.

After ebay acquisition, the top people of paypal resigned because of cultural differences. Ebay has more corporate culture while paypal was more of a ‘start-up’ culture. But it was interesting to know that a lot of popular web applications are created by former paypal people, like:

  • youtube by chad hurley and steve chen
  • yelp by jeremy stoppleman and russel simmons
  • kiva by premal sha
  • linkedin by reid hoffman & keith rabois
  • slide is of max levchin

If you’re a start-up junkie, the book would really appeal to you.

On the other thought, I’ve been wanting to have a local version of paypal. For now, I think globe/smart money transfers are the most popular payment option online but I always find the overall payment transaction flow broken – it is not really that convenient. We’ll see!

Posted via web from owrange JUICENESS

Comments Off on The Paypal Wars: Battles with Ebay, the Media, the Mafia, and the Rest of the Planet Earth by Erick M. Jackson

Filed under Side Comments

Comments are closed.